Woman Leaning on Her Right Arm II

Woman Leaning on Her Right Arm

Watercolour, gouache and soft lead pencil on paper. 2002.

This is one of the very few watercolour paintings that I’ve done in a”canonical” porous heavyweight watercolour paper. Early on I found out that this was not the best support for this particular handling of the medium, so I’ve systematically used satinated or even glossy paper surfaces that work much better with the additional ingredients I tend to use; when I did this painting, however, I still had the hope I might be able to integrate the style (or subject) into the physical medium and not the other way round…

2 thoughts on “Woman Leaning on Her Right Arm II

Leave a Reply

